I am Boston. I am boomin. I am my culture. I am...me. Everything is better in Boston. I learned to never lie, cheat, or steal in my culture. I learned to respect everybody around me, even if I'm not being respected. We didn't talk about people behind their backs. We said it to their face-and if they didn’t like it-fight ‘em.

            Every day after school we would boom. Boomin is jump roping on ice. The point was to stay standing as long as possible. We sang songs whole we were boomin just like kids here when they jump rope. We jump roped as fast as we could without losing our balance. It was really hard due to the slippery surface we were on. We basically did everything on ice.

            When we didn’t like somebody, we didn’t talk about them to somebody else like they do here in Georgia. We would find the person, tell them how we felt about them, and solved it- either through talking or fighting. When we fought, we had to fight on a sheet of ice. The winner is declared winner when the opponent loses. You lose only if your blood has slid one foot down the sheet of ice. The fight must not stop until then. I remember every fight like it was yesterday. The cold, slippery feeling of me beating in faces just puts a smile to my face. I miss those days!

            The new boy down the street had some beef with my neighbor. He had to fight on the sheet of ice with Thomas, the boy he was beefin with. Of course Nasir lost the fight.

            “Now you know when you lose around here you have to do something crazy right?” said Chris.

            “Like what?” Asked Nasir. We all huddled up and planned something for him to do.

            “Run down the hill butt naked,” stated Kenneth. “At 1:00 AM.”

            “Ummm….Ok,” Nasir said. 1:00 came as quick as a hare. It was as cold as a funeral parlor outside.  Nasir stripped down, and started down the hill. Right when he started accelerating, he slipped right on his butt and slid all the way down. We all ran towards him dying of laughter. He got up and his butt was as black as a cave. We took him to his house and his parents took him to the hospital.           

            “That’s the worst frostbite I’ve ever seen,” said the doctor. Nasir just moaned. He couldn’t talk at all. We felt really bad considering the fact that we knew he was goint to slip on the ice.

            Worcester, Boston is where I am from. It is where I raised and it’s the place that I represent. I learned to be real there unlike the fake people of Atlanta, Georgia. I miss the boomin in the front yard, the fighting, and of course the love.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.